Ramblings

New Year Resolutions and Restitutions

I know it’s bordering on cliché to make a New Years’ resolution. I thought about it this year, and really, there is more than one thing I need to do or at least try to do this year. So, I made a list. Or as my wife would call it, a Happy-wappy List of Fun.

In 2014, I Resolve To:

Reduce the things in my life

I have too many things. Our basement is a trove of ‘maybe someday I’ll need this’ items. And so is my garage. In 2014, I want to get rid of anything that is not providing immediate or imminent usefulness.

Reduce my activities

I am happily involved in many, many things. However, they start to accumulate and consume my life. In 2014, I want to stop doing anything that has lost its fun and has simply become an obligation to continue to do.

Be more involved

In the activities I will continue to participate in, I don’t want to continue to put in the same amount of time and effort. In 2014, I want to become more involved or at least participate at a more productive level.

Be more conscientious

I have a very big problem with letting my needs get ahead of others. In 2014, I want to be sure others’ needs are taken care of before my own. When I say something will be done, I will do it, and on time.

Be healthier

I am fat. I am out of shape. And for the most part, I don’t care. But I know that everyone who counts on me needs me to be able to do my part. In 2014, I want to lose 18% of my current body weight and to stop eating refined sugar as often.

Be stronger

In 2014, I want to make sure my emotional stability and self-worth is not predicated on my paranoia and perceived slights by others.

Be more frugal

Going along with reducing my things, I need to stop buying things because they ‘complete a collection’ or ‘would be cool to have’. In 2014, I want to save the money I have for better uses, like paying down debt or putting money into the kids’ college funds or visiting far-flung family.

Be a better musician

I only have 3 or 4 songs I know well on the ukulele.  I don’t know as many chords as I feel I should and I have almost no technique for my right hand. In 2014, I want to learn (and know) at least another 10 songs.

Leave a Reply

