Judaism

Holliday Challot

One Pound Rosh Hashannah Challah

I made my very first “commissioned” challot today for Rosh Hashannah (and one for Yom Kippur). I’m actually fairly happy with how they turned out.

Two pound and one pound raisin Rosh Hashannah challot

The recipe I use is the same as my normal recipe but with the addition of a 1/4 cup of honey for a little extra flavor and sweetness.

The crust on these loaves come out a little softer than the normal loaves come out, but I like the results!

I really think I can expand the challah baking into a more consistent business venture. I mean, I’d hate for a fun hobby to become a boring business drudge, but there are still financial incentives to trying it out. There’s not a lot of money to be made in baking it (at least at home with my current setup) but I really enjoy the kneading and braiding processes so I think it’s worth it.  Next year I’ll advertise my services and see if I can really rack up some business!

One thought on “Holliday Challot

Leave a Reply

