Judaism

Funeral for a Mentor II

Bernie’s funeral was sad and somber and on a beautiful day, so in that respect I suppose it was just right. I decided not to blow the shofar and instead managed to choke out a few words about how Bernie affected my life.
Some of the other people at the ceremony spoke eloquently about Bernie’s life and how he lived and I really got a new appreciation for how he lived his life.

I briefly met one of his sons and -I think- a grandson. We all spread some dirt on the casket and by the time the line had passed though, the lid of the coffin was completely covered. That should be a testament in and of itself to how beloved Bernie was by his family and friends.

I’ll definitely be thinking of Bernie during the High Holidays when I’m up on the bemah, sounding the blasts by myself.

Leave a Reply

